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**Updates to Buprenorphine Prior Authorization Requirements** 

Dear Medicaid Provider, 

  During their last session, the Vermont Legislature passed Act H.222. Sec 8b of the Act 

requires the Department of Vermont Health Access (DVHA) allow health care providers practicing in 

an office-based opioid treatment program to prescribe up to 24mg of the preferred buprenorphine 

formulation(s) without prior authorization. DVHA, in coordination with their pharmacy benefits 

manager, Change Healthcare, will be making the necessary Point-of-Sale system changes to 

accommodate this new daily dose limit. Non-preferred formulations and doses exceeding 24mg/day 

will continue to require prior authorization. 

 Effective 10/6/23, the maximum daily dose for Buprenorphine/naloxone tablets and 

Suboxone® (buprenorphine/naloxone) films will change from 16mg to 24mg/day. Quantity limits will 

also be modified accordingly:  

4mg = 1 film per day 

8mg = 3 films or tablets per day 

12mg = 2 films per day 

No quantity limit applies for the 2mg dosage form. 

The Division of Substance Use at the Vermont Department of Health continues to support the 

focus on safety when prescribing buprenorphine. Both ASAM and DVHA Guidelines recommend 

monitoring for medication diversion and the appropriateness of continued treatment.  

Effective 10/6/23, DVHA will also be making both extended-release injectable formulations of 

buprenorphine, which are associated with lower diversion risk, more accessible to providers and 

patients. Sublocade® will be moving to preferred and Brixadi® will be added as a preferred agent. 

Sublocade® will be limited to 1 injection per 28 days. Brixadi® Weekly will be limited to 1 injection per 

week (max of 4 injections per 28 days) and Brixadi® monthly will be limited to 1 injection per 28 days.  

For questions, please contact the Change Healthcare Pharmacy Help Desk at 1-844-679-

5362. Vermont providers can also send inquiries via email to 

PBA_VTHelpdesk@changehealthcare.com. Thank you for your continued support of Vermont’s 

clinical pharmacy programs. 


