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DVHA PROGRAMS SUMMARY  

Vermont Health Connect Programs 

Program Who is Eligible?1 Benefits & Cost-Sharing 

Medicaid for Adults 

Individuals aged 19 or older and under age 65 

Household income ≤ 138% FPL (133% + 5% disregard) 

Individual is not entitled to or enrolled in Medicare Part 
A and/or enrolled in Part B 

Physical and mental health 

Chiropractic (limited) 

Transportation 

Dental ($1,000/year cap, no dentures) 

Prescriptions 

• $1/$2/$3 copayment if the member does not 
have Medicare coverage 

• $1/$2/$3 copayment for over-the-counter 
medications 

Other copayments 

• $3 copayment per dental visit 

• $3 copayment per outpatient hospital visit  
(over 21 years of age) 

Medicaid for Parent/Caretaker Relative 

Relative of a dependent by blood, adoption, or marriage 
with whom the dependent child is living, who assumes 
primary responsibility for the dependent child’s care 
(regardless of whether the relative claims the child for 
tax purposes) 

Household income at or below the Parent/Caretaker 
Relative income standard for inside or outside of 
Chittenden County, depending on residency 

Same benefits as Medicaid for Adults 

Up to $10.35 copayment with Medicare coverage for 
prescriptions if the member has Low Income Subsidy 
(LIS) responsibility 

 
1 See HBEE rules for full list of eligibility criteria 

https://humanservices.vermont.gov/rules-policies/health-care-rules/health-benefits-eligibility-and-enrollment-rules-hbee
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Dr. Dynasaur 

Children under the age of 19 

Household income ≤ 317% FPL (312% + 5% disregard) Physical and mental health 

Chiropractic (limited) 

Transportation 

Eyeglasses (children only) 

Full dental benefits 

No copayments for prescriptions, over-the-counter 
medications, dental visits, or outpatient hospital visits 

Pregnant women 

Household income ≤ 213% FPL (208% + 5% disregard) 

Qualified Health Plan (QHP) No income restrictions 
Choice of QHPs on Vermont’s state-based exchange 

All plan designs include cost-sharing 

Federal Advance Premium Tax Credits 

(APTC) 

Tax filers that are not otherwise eligible for Minimum 
Essential Coverage (MEC) other than the purchase of a 
QHP 

Married individuals must file taxes jointly. 

No other tax filers will claim the individual as a 
dependent 

Household income between 100% - 400% FPL2 

Lawfully present residents with income < 100% FPL who 
is not eligible for MCA solely due to immigration status 

Can be applied to QHP monthly premium to reduce the 
cost of maintaining coverage 

Tax credits received in advance as monthly amounts, as 
a lump credit at tax filing, or a combination of both. 

 

 
2 Expanded starting in 2021 by the American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) and continuing through 2025 by the Inflation Reduction Act. 
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Federal Cost-Sharing Reduction (CSR) 
Individuals that are enrolled in a silver-level QHP3 

Household income ≤ 250% FPL 
Reduces copayments, coinsurance, deductibles, etc. 

Vermont Premium Assistance (VPA)/ 

State Premium Assistance (SPA) 
Household income ≤ 300% FPL Reduces QHP premium 

Vermont Cost-Sharing Reduction 

(VCSR) 

Individuals that are enrolled in a silver-level QHP 

Household income between 200% - 300% FPL 
Reduces copayments, coinsurance, deductibles, etc. 

Immigrant Health Insurance Plan (IHIP) 
Non-citizens who are pregnant and children under 19 
who are not eligible for Dr. Dynasaur solely due to 
immigration status 

Same benefits as Dr. Dynasaur4 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
3 Unless the individual meets federally recognized tribal status per §59.03 
4 Long-term services and supports, including home and community-based services, are not covered by IHIP 
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Green Mountain Care Programs 

Program Who is Eligible?5 Benefits & Cost-Sharing 

Medicaid for the Aged, Blind & 

Disabled (MABD) 

Individuals who are aged 65 and older, blind, and/or 
disabled 

Household income at or below the PIL for inside or 
outside of Chittenden County, depending on residency 

Resource limits: 

• Individual: $2,000 

• Couple: $3,000 

Physical and mental health 

Chiropractic (limited) 

Transportation 

Dental ($1,000/year cap, no dentures) 

Prescriptions 

• $1/$2/$3 copayment if the member does not 
have Medicare coverage 

• $1/$2/$3 copayment for over-the-counter 
medications 

• Up to $9.85 copayment with Medicare coverage 
for prescriptions if the member has Low Income 
Subsidy (LIS) responsibility 

Other copayments 

• $3 copayment per dental visit 

• $3 copayment per outpatient hospital visit   
(over 21 years of age) 

Medicaid for Working People with 

Disabilities (MWPD) 

Individuals with disabilities who are working and, 
except for income and resources, is otherwise eligible 
for MABD 

Household income < 250% FPL 

Resource limits: 

• Individual: $10,000 

• Couple: $15,000 

Same benefits as Medicaid for the Aged, Blind & 
Disabled (MABD)  

 
5 See HBEE rules for full list of eligibility criteria 

https://humanservices.vermont.gov/rules-policies/health-care-rules/health-benefits-eligibility-and-enrollment-rules-hbee
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Disabled Child in Home Care 

(DCHC)/Katie Beckett 

Children aged 18 or younger who have been 
determined disabled by the SSA or State of Vermont 

Require institutional level of care 

Household income and resources below MABD limits 

Same health benefits as Dr. Dynasaur 

No premiums 

No copayments 

VPharm6 

Individuals enrolled in a Medicare Part D plan or a 
Medicare Part C plan with prescription drug coverage 

VPharm 1: ≤ 150% FPL 

• Must apply for federal Low-Income Subsidy 
(LIS) 

VPharm 2: 150.01% - 175% FPL 

VPharm 3: 175.01 – 225% FPL 

Cost-sharing for medications and diabetic supplies 
covered by Medicare 

Full coverage for some over-the-counter medications 
and excluded Medicare drug classes 

Medicare prescription drug coverage (PDP) premium 

assistance up to the yearly benchmark (depending on LIS 

level). This includes Parts C and D PDP coverage. 

Eye examinations (VPharm 1 only) 

Monthly premiums per person (dependent upon 

household income): 

• VPharm 1: $15 premium 

• VPharm 2: $20 premium 

• VPharm 3: $50 premium 

$1/$2 prescription copayments 

No retroactive coverage 

Healthy Vermonters Program (HVP)7 

Individuals without prescription insurance or who have 
met the annual maximum coverage limit for 
prescription drugs on their commercial plan 

Under 65 years old and not disabled: ≤ 350% FPL 

65 years or older, blind, or disabled: ≤ 400% FPL 

Not a funded benefit; offers Medicaid prescription 
pricing 

If enrolled in a Medicare prescription drug plan (PDP), 
excluded classes of prescriptions are priced at the 
Medicaid rate 

No monthly premium 

No retroactive coverage 

 
6 See VPharm Rules for full list of eligibility criteria 
7 See HVP Rules for full list of eligibility criteria 

https://humanservices.vermont.gov/sites/ahsnew/files/documents/MedicaidPolicy/5400%20-%20VPharm%2011.1.19.pdf
https://humanservices.vermont.gov/sites/ahsnew/files/document%285%29.pdf
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Medicare Savings Program (MSP) 

Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (QMB) 

Individuals who are enrolled in Medicare 

Household income ≤ 100% FPL 

Medicaid payment of Medicare Part A and Part B 
premiums, deductibles, and coinsurance 

No retroactive coverage 

Coverage begins the first of the month after the initial 
QMB benefit is granted 

Specified Low-Income Medicare Beneficiary (SLMB) 

Individuals who are enrolled in Medicare 

Household income between 100.01% - 120% FPL 

Medicaid payment of Medicare Part B premiums 

Retroactive coverage up to 3 calendar months, if eligible 

Coverage begins the first of the month of application 

Qualifying Individual (QI-1) 

Individuals who are enrolled in Medicare and do not 
receive other federal-funded medical assistance 
(including Medicaid)8 

Household income between 120.01% - 135% FPL 

Medicaid payment of Medicare Part B premiums 

Retroactive coverage up to 3 calendar months, if eligible 

Coverage begins the first of the month of application 

Qualified Disabled and Working Individual (QDWI) 

Individuals who are disabled and under the age of 65 
who have lost premium-free Medicare Part A due to 
returning to work 

Household income ≤ 200% FPL 

Household Resources ≤ twice the MABD limit 

Medicaid payment of Medicare Part A premiums 

Retroactive coverage up to 3 calendar months, if eligible 

Coverage begins the first day of the month of 
application or the date on which all eligibility criteria are 
met, whichever is later 

Exceedingly rare program with low enrollment nationally 

 

 
8 Except for coverage for excluded drug classes under Part D 
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DATE  SUMMARY OF REVISIONS 

6/24/2024 Removed references to Dr. D Premiums  

  

  

  

  


