



State of Vermont Department of Vermont Health Access NOB 1 South, 280 State Drive Waterbury, VT 05671-1010 Agency of Human Services [Phone] 802-879-5900 [Fax] 802-241-0268

January 2, 2024

Important Change to Administration Fee for Vaccines

Dear Medicaid Provider,

Effective 01/01/2024 the administration fee for vaccines is \$17.85. This adjustment is being made to align with changes to the physician fee schedule for adult vaccinations. DVHA-enrolled pharmacies may be reimbursed for vaccinations administered at pharmacies to members 19 years and older who are enrolled in Vermont's publicly funded programs. Pharmacists must be certified to administer vaccines in the State of Vermont and must be compliant with all Vermont laws governing vaccine administration. Failure to comply with all Vermont immunization regulations will subject these claims to recoupment. Children ages 6 months through 18 years presenting for vaccination at pharmacies should be referred to their health care provider for state-supplied vaccines. Pharmacies interested in vaccinating children may outreach the Vermont Child Vaccine Program at <u>ahs.vdhimmunizationprogram@vermont.gov</u>. **Please note, this change does not apply to COVID-19 vaccine administration**.

Through the pharmacy point-of-sale (POS) system, the pharmacy must submit the code "MA" in the Professional Service Code field to receive reimbursement for vaccine administration. There is no dispensing fee paid for pharmacist-administered vaccines. There is no member co-pay for administered vaccines. Pharmacies will continue to be reimbursed for the ingredient cost of the vaccine as well as the administration fee. An administration fee may be applied to adult ACIP recommended vaccines.

For questions, please contact the Change Healthcare Pharmacy Help Desk at 1-844-679-5362. Vermont providers can also send inquiries via email to **PBA_VTHelpdesk@changehealthcare.com.** Thank you for your continued support of Vermont's clinical pharmacy programs.