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State of Vermont                                                                                                                  Agency of Human Services 

Department of Vermont Health Access                     [Phone] 802-879-5900 

NOB 1 South, 280 State Drive                                      [Fax] 802-241-0268 

Waterbury, VT 05671-1010 

September 22, 2023 

Dear Medicaid Provider, 

COVID -19 vaccines are now commercially available and included in the recently updated CDC 

recommendations. The 2023-2024 updated COVID-19 vaccines will be active in the Pharmacy Point-

of Sale system effective 9/22/2023 with claims processing retroactively to the effective date of 

9/11/2023. DVHA-enrolled pharmacies may be reimbursed for injectable COVID-19 vaccinations 

administered to adults 19 years and older who are enrolled in Vermont’s publicly funded programs. 

Pharmacists must be enrolled with Vermont Medicaid, certified to administer vaccines in the State of 

Vermont, and must be compliant with all Vermont laws governing vaccine administration. Failure to 

comply with all Vermont immunization regulations will subject these claims to recoupment. As a 

reminder, participation in the Vermont Child Vaccine Program (VCVP) is mandatory for 

providers who wish to provide vaccinations to children under age 19 insured by Vermont 

Medicaid. Pharmacies who wish to get reimbursed for administering vaccines to Medicaid-eligible 

children must enroll in the VCVP program. More information about enrollment and forms can be found 

on the Vermont Department of Health website.  

Currently covered COVID-19 vaccines:  Comirnaty (Pfizer), Novavax, Spikevax (Moderna).   

Pharmacies are reimbursed for the ingredient cost and administration fee for COVID-19 vaccines. At 

this time, due to system coding limitations, the administration fee will pay at $17.45 in line with other 

vaccine administrations. Once the coding changes have been implemented it will allow for the 

enhanced administration fee of $40.00, to align with Medicare reimbursement will be retroactive to 

9/11/2023. There will be additional communication provided once available.  

No dispensing fee is paid for vaccine claims. Basis of Cost and Submission Clarification Codes are 

no longer required.  

Through the pharmacy POS system, the pharmacy must submit the code “MA” in the Professional 

Service Code field for the COVID-19 vaccine claim to document the administration of the vaccine and 

receive full reimbursement. Please note there will be NO member copay for any vaccines. 

Required NCPDP Fields 

NCPDP Field Number NCPDP Field Description Required Code 

44Ø-E5 Professional Service Code MA 

4Ø7-D7 Product/Service ID NDC for COVID Vaccine 

 



For questions regarding this benefit, please contact the Change Healthcare Pharmacy Help Desk at 

1-844-679-5362. Vermont providers can also send inquiries via email to 

PBA_VTHelpdesk@changehealthcare.com. Thank you for your continued support of Vermont’s 

clinical pharmacy programs. 


