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If You Don’t Speak or Read English. 
We will give you free language services. This means an interpreter can: 

• Translate for you over the phone when you call us.

• Read and explain papers to you over the phone.

• Help you apply and renew over the phone.

Ask if we have papers in your language. 

If you need language help, call Customer Service at 1-855-899- 9600. 
You can also get an in-person Assister to help you.  Call 1-855-899-
9600 to find an Assister. If you don’t get the language services you 
need, you can file a complaint. See What to Do If You Think You Are 
Being Discriminated Against on this page. 

Right to File New Application and Yearly Renewal Application 
and Get Decisions on Time. We will give you a decision on a new 

application within 45 days. (It can take 90 days if we need to decide if 
you are disabled.) It may take longer if you cause a delay. 

For your renewal application, you stay on Medicaid while we see if you 
still qualify as long as you don’t cause delay. We will send you a letter 
telling you if you still qualify. 

What if we take too long? Call Customer Service at 1-855-899-9600 for 
more information or to file an appeal. 

Do You Disagree with a Decision We Made? Or is the Decision 
Late? You Can Appeal. An appeal means asking for a State fair 

hearing before the Human Services Board. Look at your notice of 
decision to find out more about your right to appeal. You must appeal 
within 90 days from the date on your notice. 

In most cases, we must send you a final decision on your appeal within 
90 days. 

Will waiting on a regular State fair hearing harm you? You can ask for a 
fast (expedited) appeal. If you qualify for this, we will decide your 
appeal in 7 working days in most cases. We can take longer if you get 
Medicaid due to disability or age. 

Someone else may speak for you at the hearing. This can be a friend, 
relative, or lawyer. Do you need to go to the hearing? Yes, or your 
appeal may be dismissed. 

To appeal, call Customer Service at 1-855-899-9600. You may also 
write to the Human Services Board, 120 State Street, Montpelier, VT 
05620-4301. 

You may be able to get free legal help on your appeal. Call the Health 
Care Advocate at Vermont Legal Aid at 1-800-917-7787. OR go to 
https://vtlawhelp.org/ health on the internet. 

Rights of People with Disabilities. Is it hard for you to do the things 
we ask you to do? We can make changes to help you. Changes are 
called “reasonable accommodations” under the ADA (Americans with 
Disabilities Act).  

Here are some changes we can make: 

• Someone can write down your answers if you can’t. 

• We can give you more time.

• We can help you get papers you need to give us.

• You can have a support person with you when you talk to us.

• We can send you papers with a larger print.

Do you need any changes to help you? Tell us by calling 1-855- 899-
9600 for free. 

Information for Non-citizens. Getting health insurance from us will 

NOT change your immigration status. The only time it could is if you  

 

 
 

 

get long term care Medicaid in an institution. An example is if you are 
living in a nursing home. If you want to find out more, get FREE legal 
help by calling Vermont Legal Aid at 1-800-917-7787. OR go to 
https://vtlawhelp.org/health on the internet. 

Immigrants can apply for health insurance. Does your household have 
people who can’t qualify for Medicaid because of their immigration 
status? You can still apply for the members who meet the rules. 
Pregnant people and children under age 19 can get health insurance no 
matter their immigration status. 

Whose immigration status do we check on with the U.S. Citizenship and 
Immigration Services? We will check for anyone who applies for health 
insurance. 

What about people who only apply on the immigration Health Insurance 
Plan application (205IHIP)? We DO NOT contact U.S. Citizenship and 
Immigration Services about them. 

What to do if You Think You Are Being Discriminated Against. 

We can’t treat you differently because of race, color, national origin, sex, 
or age. We can’t treat you differently because of your sexual orientation, 
gender identity, or disability. What if we don’t give you language or 
disability services you need? It may be discrimination. 

Do you think we have discriminated against you? Call Customer Service 
at 1-855-899-9600. You can also file a complaint with: 

• Department of Vermont Health Access:

Health Program Civil Rights Coordinator
Phone: (802) 241-0454
E-mail: AHS.DVHALegal@vermont.gov
Online: https://info.healthconnect.vermont.gov/non-discrimination

• Federal government: 

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
1-800-868-1019, 800-537-7697 (TDD)
Online: https://ocrportal.hhs.gov/ocr/portal/lobby.jsf

Right to Confidentiality. Information about your application and 

health insurance is private. It is protected by state and federal law. We 
won’t share your information with anyone else unless: 

• It is directly connected to running our programs, or

• The law or a court order says we have to, or

• You tell us we can.

How We Use Your Information (Including Social Security Numbers). 
We use your information to see if you meet the rules to get health 
insurance. We also use it to help pay for care and for other legal reasons. 
We check income and other information to see if you meet the rules. We 
decide what insurance you get. We collect claims, do audits, investigate 
cheating, and pay for medical help. We check the truth of information 
you gave us. 

We may contact public and private agencies. This includes the Social 
Security Administration, banks (Asset Verification), and consumer 
reporting agencies. It includes the Department of Labor, Department of 
Homeland Security, and the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). If the 
information does not match, we may ask you to send us proof. 

Do you have a Social Security Number (SSN)? You must give it to us to 
get health insurance. What if someone does not want health care? They 
don’t have to give us their SSN. Some people who don’t have an SSN 
don’t have to get one to apply. This includes people with a religious 
reason not to have one. Call Customer Service at 1-855-899-9600 to find 
out more. 

Your Rights and Responsibilities 
These rights and responsibilities are for everyone who applies. If you need a large print copy of this, please call Customer 
Service at 1-855-899-9600. When we say “health insurance” below it may include all of our health care programs such as  

Medicaid, VPharm, Medicare Savings Programs, and Qualified Health Plans. 

https://vtlawhelp.org/health
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You must tell us IF: 
• Your address, phone, or email changes

• Your income changes

• Who lives with you changes

• You marry or divorce 

• You get pregnant

• Your immigration status changes or you become a citizen 

• You get other health insurance 

• You move out of state 

• When your resources go above the $2,000 limit

• You get a lump sum payment like:
o a trust or retirement fund distribution 

o inheritance or

o insurance settlement

• You have a change in ownership like: 

o adding or removing a name or

o sale or transfer of real or personal property 

• You have a sale of property, including your home 

To report a change, call Customer Service at 1-855-899-9600. OR write 
or send a change report form (Form 200GMC) to: DVHA, Application & 
Document Processing Center, 280 State Drive, NOB 1 South, 
Waterbury, VT 05671-1500  

Call Customer Service at 1-855-899-9600 to report changes. For 
Medicaid, you must report changes within 10 days. Did you or 
someone in your household enroll in a qualified health plan through 
us? You must report changes in 30 days. 

Don’t Lie to Get or Keep Medicaid or Help Someone Else Get 
or Keep It. You or any member of your household cannot lie on 

purpose to get or keep health care. 

What if you do lie and are found guilty? Penalties may include up to 3 
years in prison and/or a fine of up to $1,000. Or you may be fined as 
much as the health care cost. There may be other federal or state 
penalties. (42 U.S.C. §1320a-7b; 33 V.S.A. §§141, 143) 

Agreement Regarding Medicare Part B Payments. You agree 

that we will pay doctors and medical suppliers directly for these 
services. This means you won’t have to sign separate papers each time 
you get a service. 

Agreement to Release Medical Records. You agree that your 
medical records may be read, used and shown to others. This means 
health care providers, Department of Vermont Health Access and its 
contractors and grantees. They can share your records to manage state 
health care programs. Or if a hospital, health care provider, mental 
health provider, or pharmacy needs your medical records. This 
includes provider and drug information for your treatment and 
payment of your treatment. It includes information for health care 
operations. 

Have you been in a drug or alcohol treatment program? You agree to 
let them tell us what prescription drugs you got in their program. We 
only ask for this if it is needed to treat you. 

 
 
 
 

 

You can take back your consent to release your medical records. Just say 
that in writing and mail it to: DVHA Deputy Commissioner, 280 State 
Drive, NOB 1 South, Waterbury, VT 05671-1010. 

Agreement to Let us Pursue Money and Medical Support from 
Third Parties if You Get Medicaid. Do you get Medicaid? Then you 

give us the right to try and get money for your health care. This would 
come from other health insurance, legal settlements, or other third 
parties. This is true for you and anyone in your household who gets 
Medicaid. 
You agree to sign up for a group health plan if the state requires it. The 
state may pay the monthly payments. 

You give us the right to get medical support from a husband/wife or 
parent. This includes a parent living outside of your home. Do you think 
that helping collect medical support may harm you or your children? Call 
Customer Service at 1-855-899-9600. You may not have to help us. 

Consent to Bill Medicaid if Child Receives Special Education. 
Does a child in your household get Medicaid and Special Education? 
Then you agree your child’s school district can bill Medicaid. They can 
bill for the services listed in your child’s Individual Education Plan or IEP. 
What if you don’t give permission? You are only saying they can’t bill 
Medicaid for IEP services. The school district must still give your child 
free IEP services. You may take back consent to bill Medicaid at any 
time. The school must stop billing Medicaid the day you take back your 
consent. To take back your consent, write to: DVHA, Application & 
Document Processing Center, 280 State Drive, NOB 1 South, Waterbury, 
VT 05671-8100. 

You Agree We Can Check Resources for Medicaid for the Aged, 
Blind and Disabled. There are rules for who can get Medicaid for 
the Aged, Blind and Disabled. There are rules about how much income, 
money, and property you can have. To meet federal law (42 U.S.C. 
1396w), the Department of Vermont Health Access uses an electronic 
asset verification system. This helps us see if you can get this program. 
The system asks for information from banks and financial institutions. 
They check open and closed accounts to see if you meet the rules. 

You agree the Department of Vermont Health Access can check with 
banks and financial institutions. This is to see if you meet the rules to get 
Medicaid. This agreement lasts until you take it back in writing. It will 
end if your application is turned down or you stop meeting Medicaid 
rules. What if you decide to take back your agreement? Call Customer 
Service at 1-855-899-9600 to find out where to send your written 
statement. 

NEED HELP? Visit dvha.vermont.gov/apply or call Customer Service at 1-855-899-9600. 

For TTY/relay services, dial 711. 

Visit dvha.vermont.gov/apply or call Customer Service for a copy of your rights and responsibilities. 

Your Rights and Responsibilities 
These rights and responsibilities are for everyone who applies. If you need a large print copy of this, please call Customer 
Service at 1-855-899-9600. When we say “health insurance” below it may include all of our health care programs such as  

Medicaid, VPharm, Medicare Savings Programs, and Qualified Health Plans. 

04/2024

https://dvha.vermont.gov/apply
https://dvha.vermont.gov/apply



