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Vermont Hazard Pay Grant Program Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) 

 
Summary: 

• Governor Scott has authorized $28 million for a Front-Line Employees Hazard Pay Grant 
Program for certain public safety, public health, health care, and human services 
employers whose employees were engaged in activities substantially dedicated to 
mitigating or responding to the COVID-19 public health emergency during the eligible 
time period, March 13, 2020 through May 15, 2020. These funds have been made available 
to the State of Vermont through the Federal Coronavirus Relief Fund (CRF) CFDA #21.019. 
The Agency of Human Services (AHS) is administering this program that is authorized 
through Act 136 of 2020.   

• The application period opened for eligible applicants on Tuesday, August 4th, 2020 at 9 
AM EST. Grants will be awarded through an online application process and funds will be 
distributed on a first-come, first-served basis. 

• Guidance documents are available through the links below: 
o Program Guidance found here 
o Application Instructions found here 

• The following FAQs and responses have been grouped by category. 
 

General Questions 

1. Who is eligible to apply for the Hazard Pay Grant Program? 
Only Covered Employers and ARIS Solutions, the fiscal agent for the employers of the 
independent direct support providers, may apply for a lump sum grant award to be 
distributed to Eligible Employees in the amounts of $1,200 or $2,000 per employee. Individual 
employees are not eligible to apply. 
 

2. Which employers are considered Covered Employers that may submit applications, and 
which are not? 
 
A Covered Employer is an entity that employs one or more individuals in Vermont in relation 
to its operation of one of the following: 
• Ambulance service or first responder service as defined in 24 V.S.A. §2651 

https://dvha.vermont.gov/sites/dvha/files/documents/News/Hazard%20Pay%20Grant%20Program%20Guidance%20v1.pdf
https://dvha.vermont.gov/sites/dvha/files/documents/News/Hazard%20Pay%20Application%20Instructions%20V1.pdf
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/24/071/02651


 

• Assisted living residence as defined in 33 V.S.A .§7102 
• Dentist’s office or a dental facility 
• Federally qualified health center, rural health clinic, or clinic for the uninsured 
• Health care facility as defined in 18 VS.A. §9432 or a physician’s office 
• Home health agency as defined in 33 V.S.A. §6302 and any employer that a home health 

agency has contracted with to provide physical, speech, respiratory, or occupational 
therapy on its behalf, provided that such an employer shall only be permitted to receive a 
grant to provide hazard pay to its employees for therapy services provided on behalf of 
the home health agency 

• Homeless shelter 
• Morgue 
• Nursing home as defined in 33 V.S.A. §7102 and any employer that a nursing home has 

contracted with for the provision of physical, speech, respiratory, or occupational therapy, 
provided that such an employer shall only be permitted to receive a grant to provide 
hazard pay to its employees for therapy services provided in the nursing home 

• Program licensed by the Department for Children and Families as a residential treatment 
program 

• Provider of necessities and services to vulnerable or disadvantaged populations 
• Residential care home as defined in 33 V.S.A. §7102 
• Therapeutic community residence as defined in 33 V.S.A. §7102 

 
Covered Employers do not include: 
• The State 
• A political subdivision of the State 
• The United States 
• An agency designated to provide mental health or developmental services, or both, 

pursuant to 18 V.S.A chapter 207 
• An agency with which the Commissioner of Mental Health or of Disabilities, Aging, and 

Independent Living, or both, has contracted to provide specialized services pursuant to 18 
V.S.A. §8912. 

 
Other organizations that do not operate a facility, office, program or service listed above are 
not eligible to apply for Hazard Pay Grant Program funding. 
 
It is possible that some employers that are not considered Covered Employers for Hazard Pay 
Grant Program funds might be eligible for Economic Recovery Grants through the Agency of 
Commerce and Community Development. Information on that program can be found here: 
Economic Recovery Grants. 
 

3. What is the application submission timeline?   
Application Submission Period  Time Period Covering  
August 4, 2020 – October 31, 2020 
on a first-come, first-served basis 

March 13, 2020 – May 15, 2020 

 

https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/33/071/07102
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/18/221/09432
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/33/063/06302
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/33/071/07102
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/33/071/07102
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/33/071/07102/
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/18/207/08907
http://legislature.vt.gov/statutes/section/18/207/08912
http://legislature.vt.gov/statutes/section/18/207/08912
https://accd.vermont.gov/covid-19/economic-recovery-grants/faqs


 

Applications should be submitted electronically using the web-based form as soon as possible 
starting on August 4th, 2020.  A large number of applications have been received as of August 
10th, 2020 and demand for grant funds could soon exceed available funding.  Funding 
determinations will be made for eligible applications on a first-come, first-served basis, subject 
to available funding. 
 

4. Is there a time limit on when I can spend the grant? 
Yes. Eligible Covered Employers are required to acknowledge and agree that they must spend 
Hazard Pay Grant Program funds for eligible employees within 90 days of the grant award or 
by December 15, 2020, whichever is earlier.  All unspent funds must be returned to the State of 
Vermont. 

 
5. What happens if more eligible Covered Employers apply than there are available funds for 

grants? 
Funding will be distributed on a first-come, first-served basis as long as there is still funding 
available. As of August 10th, 2020, a large number of applications have been received.  Funding 
requests may soon exceed available funding. 
 

6. How can I stay up to date on information regarding the Hazard Pay Grant Program?   
The latest information regarding the Hazard Pay Grant Program and any other COVID-19 
funding opportunities will continue to be posted at https://dvha.vermont.gov/front-line-
employees-hazard-pay-grant-program as it becomes available. This is the best place to check 
for up-to-date information. To sign up for periodic e-mail updates about the program, 
complete this online form.  
  

7. What will happen if AHS needs more information after I submit my application?  
A reviewer will review your application and the documents you uploaded for accuracy and to 
ensure all necessary information was provided. If anything appears to be missing, a reviewer 
will contact you using the primary contact information provided during registration.   
 

8. When will my organization know if we are approved for a grant award? 
A review team is currently reviewing all applications.  A large number of applications were 
received.  All applications received in August should be reviewed by mid-September.  
Applicants will receive notices by email as soon as their grants are reviewed. 
 

9. What happens after my organization is approved for a grant award? 
Your organization will receive an email stating you are approved for a grant award.  You will 
also receive two additional emails after you are approved.  You will receive a grant award 
email that includes the terms of your grant award.  These terms are in addition to the 
certifications you made in your application.  You will also receive an email about the spending 
report you must submit no later than ninety (90) days after receiving the grant or December 
15, 2020, whichever is earlier.  A check will be mailed to the address in your organization’s W-
9. 
 

https://dvha.vermont.gov/front-line-employees-hazard-pay-grant-program
https://dvha.vermont.gov/front-line-employees-hazard-pay-grant-program
https://forms.office.com/Pages/ResponsePage.aspx?id=O5O0IK26PEOcAnDtzHVZxvfgWKk_oARJtaZfOH6fNQtUM0dKTFo2SVhVOEdXNDBWNEZIT1dUSlJMMC4u


 

10. I received an email stating that my application is incomplete and I need to correct it through 
the online grant portal.  How do I locate my username? 
Your username was assigned to you when you started your application. It is your email 
address with .vtgrants added at the end. For example, if your email address is info@xyz.com, 
then your username is info@xyz.com.vtgrants.  You should have received an email with this 
information when you first began your grant application.  If you did not receive this email, 
check your junk or spam folder. 

 
Questions About Eligibility 

 
11. Which employees are considered Eligible Employees? 

To be considered an Eligible Employee, the employee must meet the following criteria: 

• Is employed by the Covered Employer  
• Performs a job that had an elevated risk of exposure to COVID-19 during the eligible 

period, which is March 13, 2020 through May 15, 2020  
• Was unable to perform their job remotely or to telework, including by providing health 

care or other services by telephone, videoconference, or telehealth  
• Earns an hourly base wage of $25.00 or less, except in the case of employees of home 

health agencies and nursing homes  
• Worked at least 68 hours for a Covered Employer during the eligible period  
• Is not eligible to receive monetary benefits for the performance of their job under any 

program authorized or implemented by the federal government 

Additional information about these eligibility criteria including a definition for “elevated risk 
of exposure to COVID-19” and factors for determining hours is located in the Program 
Guidance found here. 

Applicant payroll reports may be requested by AHS to support the Hazard Pay Grant 
Program payments requested to be paid and could be subject to audit. 

12. Are volunteers eligible for Hazard Pay Grant Program funds? 
Volunteers are not eligible because they would not meet the criteria of being employed by a 
Covered Employer.   
 

13. Can I calculate an hourly base wage for my employees who receive a salary? 
Applicants may calculate an hourly base wage for employees who have an annual salary.   

 
14. Is a municipal ambulance service eligible when the ambulance service is under the 

Town/reports to a Select Board? 
Covered Employers do not include "a political subdivision of the state" such as a town or 
county and therefore a town or county may not apply for this opportunity. 
 

https://dvha.vermont.gov/sites/dvha/files/documents/News/Hazard%20Pay%20Grant%20Program%20Guidance%20v1.pdf


 

15. Is an employee able to receive Hazard Pay Grant Program payments through more than one 
employer? 
Only Covered Employers may apply for this grant opportunity.  Each Covered Employer that 
applies will indicate which of their employees are eligible, per the Hazard Pay Grant Program 
requirements.  If an employee meets these criteria for more than one Covered Employer, both 
of the Covered Employers may apply for grant funding to provide the employee Hazard Pay 
Grant Program payments for the performance of their different jobs.    
 

16. Is an employee able to receive Hazard Pay Grant Program payments through this program 
if they have received hazard pay payments from an employer or another state? 
Eligible Employees in Vermont who received hazard pay payments from an employer or 
another state (e.g., New Hampshire) may be eligible for Hazard Pay Grant Program payments; 
the receipt of payment from an employer or another state does not make them ineligible.  
 

17. Would working from your own home or being on call from your own home be considered 
in the hours worked? 
In the Program Guidance found here (page 6), "Factors for Determining the Number of Hours 
Worked" indicates that any hours of remote or telework performed by the Eligible Employee 
(including the provision of healthcare or other services by telephone, videoconference, or 
telehealth) should not be included. 
 

18. Are former employees eligible?  
Employees must be employed by the Covered Employer in order to be considered Eligible 
Employees.  Employees who are no longer working for the employer are not eligible.   
  

19. If I am a Covered Employer and also worked for my business, can I qualify for a Hazard 
Pay Grant Program payments?  
If you are also an employee of the organization that is applying, and meet the employee 
eligibility criteria, then you may also receive a Hazard Pay Grant Program payment.  Please 
see the Program Guidance found here for information about Eligible Employees. 
 

20. Are independent direct support providers eligible for Hazard Pay Grant Program payments 
and do their employers need to submit a Hazard Pay Grant Program application on their 
behalf? 
Independent direct support providers may be eligible to receive Hazard Pay Grant Program 
payments.  ARIS Solutions (ARIS) is the fiscal agent for the employers of independent direct 
support providers, which are defined in 21 V.S.A. §1631.  ARIS is specifically mentioned in Act 
136 of 2020, allowing ARIS to apply for a Hazard Pay Grant Program grant on behalf of the 
independent employers. Details for the Hazard Pay Grant Program process for independent 
employers and their employees will come directly from ARIS, which is applying on behalf of 
eligible independent direct support providers. 
 

21. My business was deemed an essential business during the height of the pandemic.  Does 
that make me eligible to apply for this program?  

https://dvha.vermont.gov/sites/dvha/files/documents/News/Hazard%20Pay%20Grant%20Program%20Guidance%20v1.pdf
https://dvha.vermont.gov/sites/dvha/files/documents/News/Hazard%20Pay%20Grant%20Program%20Guidance%20v1.pdf
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/21/020/01631


 

Only certain public safety, public health, health care, and human services employers are 
eligible to apply at this time.  Covered Employers are further defined in Question 2 above.  

 
22. Are out-of-state employers eligible to apply for this funding if they provide services in 

Vermont? 
The Covered Employer could be a parent company from another state that has a branch 
location in Vermont.  The Covered Employer must employ one or more individuals in 
Vermont in relation to its operation.  Covered Employers must enter the employee's name, 
work site location and work site address in the application using the Summary Report of 
Eligible Employees which you can find here. Eligible Employees must perform their job in a 
work site located in Vermont. 

 
23. We contract with an outside company for certain services in our health care facility. Can we 

apply for their employees? 
No, Act 136 of 2020 defines eligible employees as individuals who are employed by a Covered 
Employer that has applied for a grant through the Program.  The employees of your contractor 
are only eligible if the contractor is a Covered Employer and could apply on its own.   
 

24. We received a Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) loan from the federal government and 
paid our employees hazard pay with these monies. Can we still apply for the Hazard Pay 
Grant Program? 
Yes, your PPP loan does not disqualify you from applying for this grant or your Eligible 
Employees from receiving payments.   
 

25. Is there additional information we can share with our employees about the potential impact 
of Hazard Pay Grant Program payments on public benefits? 
AHS is developing information for Eligible Employees to support them in understanding the 
potential impact of hazard pay on public benefits.  This will be posted to the Hazard Pay 
Grant Program website soon. 
 

26. I received grant funding to disburse hazard pay to Eligible Employees at my organization.  
One employee recently gave notice that they are terminating employment.  May I still 
provide them with hazard pay? 
In order to be eligible to receive hazard pay from a Covered Employer, an individual must 
have been an employee at the time the Covered Employer submitted an application that 
included their name and eligibility information.  If the individual terminates their 
employment after the date the application with their name and eligibility information was 
submitted, then the Covered Employer may disburse hazard pay to the individual if the 
Covered Employer is able to do so.  There may be situations where a Covered Employer is 
unable to disburse hazard pay to a recently terminated employee, such as not being able to 
add the recently terminated employee onto payroll or not being able to locate the recently 
terminated employee.  In these circumstances, funding may be returned to the State of 
Vermont. 
 
 

https://dvha.vermont.gov/sites/dvha/files/doc_library/Summary%20Report%20of%20Eligible%20Employees.xlsx


 

Questions About Completing the Application 
 

27. Does the employee or employer fill out this information?  
Only Covered Employers may apply for this grant opportunity to provide Hazard Pay Grant 
Program payments to their Eligible Employees.  
  

28. What do I need to prepare in advance to apply? 
Detailed Application Instructions can be found here. 
 
Before you get started with the application, you will want to have the following information 
available:   
• Vermont employer identification number (7-digit number used for Vermont Department 

of Labor filings). Providing this number is not required but helps populate some of the 
application required fields. 

• Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) or Social Security Number if you are 
filing as a Sole Proprietor.   

• Contact information for the individual responsible for the application.  
 
You will also want to have the following documents available for uploading:  
• W-9 Form.  
• Summary Report of Eligible Employees.  

 
You will also need to establish a process to permit Eligible Employees to elect not to receive 
Hazard Pay Grant Program payments and record keeping procedures to track which 
employees have elected not to receive a grant. You do not need to upload these documents; 
however, you will need to certify that you established this process and record keeping 
procedures in your application.     
 

29. Should Columns E, F, and G of the Summary Report of Eligible Employees be completed 
with “Yes” or “No”? 
Yes, they should be completed with “Yes” or “No”.  See detailed Application Instructions 
here.  
 

Questions About Payments to Eligible Employees 
 

30. How will Eligible Employees receive their Hazard Pay Grant Program payments?  Will they 
receive checks directly, or does the Covered Employer issue checks? 
Covered Employers make payroll payments to Eligible Employees after receiving Hazard Pay 
Grant Program funds from the State of Vermont. 

 
31. Are Hazard Pay Grant Program payments to Eligible Employees taxable? 

https://dvha.vermont.gov/sites/dvha/files/documents/News/Hazard%20Pay%20Application%20Instructions%20V1.pdf
https://dvha.vermont.gov/sites/dvha/files/documents/News/Hazard%20Pay%20Application%20Instructions%20V1.pdf


 

Yes, Hazard Pay Grant Program payments made to Eligible Employees are taxable.  Covered 
Employers may deduct both the employee's and employer's share of payroll taxes from the 
Hazard Pay Grant Program amount provided to employees. 
 

32. As the Covered Employer, can we only deduct taxes withheld from the employee (federal, 
state and employee FICA 7.65%) or can we also deduct the employer share of FICA tax 
(7.65%)? 
Covered Employers may only request funding to disburse as Hazard Pay Grant Program 
payments.  Covered Employers may therefore elect to deduct both the employee's and 
employer's share of payroll taxes from the Hazard Pay Grant Program amount provided to 
employees.   
 

33. Can the Covered Employer charge an administrative fee in relation to requesting funding 
and distributing Hazard Pay Grant Program payments to Eligible Employees? 
No, Covered Employers may not charge Eligible Employees a fee to provide the employee 
with Hazard Pay Grant Program funding. 
 

34. Can Covered Employers recoup from the Hazard Pay Grant Program funds they have 
already paid to employees? 
No, all Hazard Pay Grant Program funds must be disbursed to Eligible Employees or returned 
to the State of Vermont.  The Covered Employer may not reduce or otherwise recoup funds 
paid to or owed to an Eligible Employee for work performed during the eligible period to 
reimburse the Covered Employer for hazard pay previously provided to the Eligible 
Employee. 
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