You are at: Home For Providers ICD-10 Home Page

Document Actions

ICD-10 Home Page

last modified 05/26/2016 - 02:22 PM






Thank you for a successful transition to ICD-10

Vermont Medicaid would like to thank all providers, partners and associations for their work in ensuring a smooth transition to ICD-10 on October 1st, 2015.



Instructions on how to access the CMS - General Equivalent Mapping (GEM) files



What is ICD-10?  The International Classification Diseases is a coding scheme used to specify diagnosis and related procedures. The US Federal government, through CMS, has mandated the use of ICD-10-CM diagnosis code and ICD-10-PCS for inpatient procedure coding throughout the healthcare system in October 2015.

Who must us ICD-10? All HIPAA-Covered entities and their agents. This includes: all medical practices, hospitals and clinics, opticians, dentists, pharmacies, nursing homes, nurses practitioners, psychologists, clearing houses, billing services, payers (HPES). By the next year the whole healthcare industry will be using ICD-10.

When will ICD-10 start? Started October 1, 2015, all HIPAA-covered entities are required to include ICD-10-CM diagnosis codes and ICD-10-PCS procedure codes with their claim submissions.


Helpful Links: (Please note not all listed links are federally recognized and should only be used as a reference source.)



icd10logo.jpg    CONTACT US AT   Department of Vermont Health Access-Vermont Medicaid,  312 Hurricane Lane, Suite 201   Williston, VT 05495   
                                                        EMAIL:      PROVIDER SERVICES HELPDESK:  (800)-925-1706 or (802) 879-4450