



State of Vermont

Department of Vermont Health Access

NOB 1 South, 280 State Drive

Waterbury, VT 05671-1010

Agency of Human Services [Phone] 802-879-5900 [Fax] 802-241-0268

October 07, 2019

UPDATED IMPLEMENTATION DATE- Important Changes to Administration Fee for Vaccines

The following communication was sent on 9/27/2019 with an effective date of 10/11/2019. The revised effective date is 11/08/2019.

The pharmacy administration fee for influenza vaccine will be changing from \$16.71 to \$13.97. This adjustment is being made to align with changes to the physician fee schedule (CPT code 90471) for adults.

Covered influenza vaccines for the 2019/20 season include:

- Afluria® (Quadrivalent)
- Fluarix® (Quadrivalent)

- FluLaval® (Quadrivalent)
- Fluzone® (Quadrivalent

Additionally, DVHA is pleased to announce that a vaccine administration fee of \$13.97 will apply to <u>all adult vaccines</u> recommended by The Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) for the following vaccines:

- Hepatitis A
- Hepatitis B
- Herpes Zoster
- Human Papillomavirus (HPV)
- Measles, Mumps, and Rubella (MMR)
- Meningococcal

- Pneumococcal
- Tetanus and Diphtheria
- Tetanus, Diphtheria, and Pertussis
- Typhoid Fever
- Varicella

DVHA-enrolled pharmacies may be reimbursed for vaccinations administered by pharmacists to adults 19 years and older who are enrolled in Vermont's publicly funded programs. Pharmacists must be certified to administer vaccines in the State of Vermont and must be compliant with all Vermont laws governing vaccine administration. Failure to comply with all Vermont immunization regulations will subject these claims to recoupment. Children age 6 months through 18 years presenting for vaccination at pharmacies should be referred to their health care provider for State-supplied vaccines.

Reimbursement will be based on either a written prescription or a non-patient specific written protocol based on a collaborative practice agreement per state law. These orders must be kept on file at the pharmacy. Through the pharmacy point-of-sale (POS) system, the pharmacy must submit the code "MA" in the Professional Service Code field in order to receive full reimbursement. There is no dispensing fee paid for pharmacist-administered vaccines.

For questions, please contact the Change Healthcare Pharmacy Help Desk at 1-844-679-5362. Vermont providers can also send inquiries via email to PBA_VTHelpdesk@changehealthcare.com. Thank you for your continued support of Vermont's clinical pharmacy programs.

Nancy J. Hogue, Pharm.D.

Director of Pharmacy Services