



Agency of Human Services

State of Vermont Department of Vermont Health Access NOB 1 South, 280 State Drive Waterbury, VT 05671-1010

November 16, 2020

## \*\*Attention Pharmacies and Pharmacists\*\* Administration of Vaccines to Children 3-18 Years of Age

On August 19, 2020, the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services announced its <u>Third Amendment to</u> <u>Declaration Under the Public Readiness and Emergency Preparedness Act for Medical Countermeasures</u> <u>Against COVID–19</u>. The Declaration preempts state law and authorizes licensed pharmacists to order and administer, and pharmacy interns to administer, all vaccines recommended by the CDC's Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP), and approved or licensed by the FDA, to children ages 3 to 18 during the COVID-19 pandemic. Please review the Board of Pharmacy <u>guidance</u> related to this PREP Act authority to be sure you are complying with both state guidance and federal laws.

## Vermont Child Vaccine Program (VCVP)

The Vermont Child Vaccine Program (VCVP) covers those eligible for the federal Vaccines for Children (VFC) program, as well as the privately insured population under age 19. **Participation is mandatory for providers who wish to provide vaccinations to children insured by Vermont Medicaid**, therefore pharmacies who wish to get reimbursed for administering vaccines to Medicaid-eligible children must enroll in the VCVP program. There are two enrollment options. You can either choose to administer all ACIP-recommended childhood vaccines, or you may enroll as a specialty provider which allows you to offer only Influenza vaccines. More information about enrollment and forms can be found on the <u>Vermont Department of Health website</u>.

## **Ordering Children's Vaccines and Provider Enrollment:**

There are two ways to order pediatric vaccines. One is through a collaborative practice agreement with a prescriber. Per Board of Pharmacy guidance, a standing order for adult vaccination may be amended to allow pediatric vaccination with written permission of the prescriber who issued the order.

The other is through a pharmacist's authority to order via the PREP Act. If a pharmacist is the **ordering** provider, that pharmacist must obtain an NPI number and enroll as a provider with Vermont Medicaid.

**Pharmacist Enrollment:** To enroll as a provider, please follow the instructions below:

- 1. Visit <a href="https://vermont.hppcloud.com/Home/Index/">https://vermont.hppcloud.com/Home/Index/</a>
- 2. Click "Menu" on the top left-hand corner of the screen
- 3. Select Provider Enrollment and then New Enrollment
- 4. Fill out the enrollment form and click submit
- 5. Informational Provider Management Module training can be found by clicking <u>http://www.vtmedicaid.com/#/provEnrollResources</u>

Questions related to <u>Provider Enrollment</u> should be directed to: <u>vtproviderenrollment@dxc.com</u> or call 802-879-4450, option 1.

## **Reimbursement/Billing:**

All billing for providers who enroll in VCVP must be done through a medical claim. State supplied vaccines must be billed with modifier SL. When a vaccine is State supplied and billed with the SL modifier, the billed amount can be either \$0.00 or \$0.01. The reimbursement amount will be \$0.00. All vaccines and administrations for service provided on the same day, must be billed on one claim. Codes for vaccine administrations must be rolled up and billed on one line with the appropriate number of units. The number of units will depend on number of vaccines and components given. More information can be found in the <u>General Billing and Forms Manual</u>, and any billing questions can be directed to Gainwell Provider Services at 800-925-1706.

For questions regarding childhood vaccines, please contact the DVHA Pharmacy Staff at <u>dvhaph@vermont.gov</u>. Thank you for your continued support of Vermont's pharmacy programs.

Nancy J. Hogue, Pharm.D.

**Director of Pharmacy Services**