
The FY2016 Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) Payment 
Error Rate Measurement (PERM) audit is underway. The audit is derived 
from the Improper Payments Information Act of 2002 (IPIA; Public Law 
107-300). The IPIA directs Federal agencies to annually review its 
programs and report any improper payments to Congress. Because the 
Department of Vermont Health Access (Vermont Medicaid) is identified as 
a federal program, our participation is both active and required.

Providers selected for the sample are required to submit medical 
record and associated documents on specific claims. CMS auditor A+ 
Government Solutions will be sending direct notification to those selected. 
The first initial notifications will occur around May/June 2016 for the first 
two-quarters of FFY16. The third- and fourth-quarter notifications, will be 
sent out around July/Aug 2016 (for the third quarter) and Oct/Nov 2016 (for 
the fourth quarter). 

As stated in your signed Provider Enrollment Agreement (Section 6) and/
or, if you have recently revalidated your enrollment, your signed General 

Provider Agreement (Article VI, Section 1), provider participation is required.

DVHA will provide assistive guidance and support during this process as well as issue ongoing PERM 
notices and direct communications to PERM selected providers.  

PERM FFY2016 - DVHA Time Limit Requirements 
•	 Providers have 30 days from the date of receipt of notice to submit required claims medical 

records and adjoining documents to A+ Government Solutions
•	 Providers have 7 days from the date of receipt of notice, of request for additional information to 

submit additional claims documentation for inaccurate medical record and adjoining documents, 
to A+ Government Solutions

Sanction for Non-Compliance
DVHA will enforce a 10% withholding of all Green Mountain Care/VT Medicaid payments for all provider’s 
that do not submit the required medical records and adjoining documents within 30 days or the additional 
documentation within 7 days.

Additional information can be found at http://dvha.vermont.gov/for-providers/
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The EHR Incentive Program Awareness Survey
The Vermont Medicaid Electronic Health Record Incentive Program (EHRIP) Team will be conducting 
a survey to gauge awareness of the program among potentially eligible providers who have not yet 
received an incentive payment.  

Eligible professionals can receive up to $63,750 for full participation in the program over six years. This 
includes a payment in the first participation year of $21,250 to adopt, implement or upgrade (AIU) to a 
Certified Electronic Health Record Technology (CEHRT) system.

All Hands on Deck to Keep Vermonters Covered
Earlier this year, we launched our Medicaid renewal project. Every Medicaid and Dr. Dynasaur enrollee 
in Vermont should receive a letter in the next few months, if they haven’t already, telling them what they 
need to do to maintain health coverage. The “what to do” is actually quite simple. They can either mail 
back the enclosed form or they can call our toll-free number (1-855-899-9600). The phone option is 
generally faster and easier. The catch is that they need to act fast.  

Our goal is to help every Vermonter access the health care they need by enrolling in the public or private 
health plans for which they qualify. We want to help Vermont families avoid a gap in coverage. Toward 
this end, we are sending three notices and reminders to each household over a two-month period before 
we terminate their coverage. In the event that they don’t respond and their coverage is terminated, we 
encourage them to call and apply for new coverage as soon as possible. 

Time is of the essence because, in the event they no longer qualify for Medicaid, they’ll only have 60 
days to sign up for private health insurance and the subsidies to help pay for it. Otherwise, they’ll likely 
have to wait until 2017 to get covered. And they could have to pay the federal fee for not having health 
coverage.
 
Getting every member to open their mail and respond is not as easy as it sounds. To achieve a high 
response rate, we need your help. Community partners and providers like you played a key role in 
helping Vermont achieve one of the two lowest uninsured rates in the nation. With your help, we can 
ensure that those newly covered Vermonters stay covered and access the care they need without 
disruption.  
 
Here are three ways you can help spread the word:
 
1.	 In pre-appointment communication with Medicaid enrollees, ask if they’ve recently received a 

Medicaid renewal letter. 
•	 If so, encourage them to respond ASAP (if they haven’t already done so).
•	 If not, ask them to watch their mailbox – it will come between now and fall.
•	 If they’ve moved recently, they should call Vermont Health Connect to make sure their mailing 

address is correct.
2.	 At the appointment, ask the same question.

•	 If they need in-person help, tell them about our statewide network of http://info.healthconnect.
vermont.gov/find 

3.	 In external communication, call attention to Medicaid renewals.
•	 Post an announcement (see http://info.healthconnect.vermont.gov/materials#Post) in 

newsletters and invite staff to post in their local Front Porch Forum. 

You can also download the posters and handouts from: http://info.healthconnect.vermont.gov/materials 
or use our materials request form found on the website to request materials be sent to you. If you have 
questions or ideas, please contact us at: https://apps.health.vermont.gov/VHCForm/family

http://info.healthconnect.vermont.gov/find 
http://info.healthconnect.vermont.gov/find 
http://info.healthconnect.vermont.gov/materials#Post
http://info.healthconnect.vermont.gov/materials
https://apps.health.vermont.gov/VHCForm/family


Ladies First now covers Genotyping. National Cancer Institute studies 
have shown that women with HPV types 16 and 18 have about a 20% 
risk of progressing to CIN3 over 10 years despite negative Pap tests, and 
colposcopy may be useful for these women. However, most of HPV 16/18 
infections regress, especially in women under age 30, who also have 
almost a 20% rate of high risk HPV infection.
 
The April 2013 Consensus Guidelines states that in cytology negative 
women ages 30 years and older who are high-risk HPV DNA positive it is 
acceptable to obtain genotyping assays for HPV 16 and 18. Women who 
are positive should be referred for immediate colposcopy, while those who 
are HPV 16/18 negative but positive for other high-risk types should be 
followed with repeat cytology and high-risk HPV testing in 12 months.
 
However, please note that genotyping assays are not suitable for women who are younger than 30 
years old. Genotyping is inappropriate for women with abnormal Pap results, as results do not alter 
management.

Please see:  “April 2013 Algorithm Use of HPV Genotyping to Manage HPV HR* Positive/Cytology 
Negative Women 30 Years and Older” (http://www.ladiesfirstproviders.vermont.gov/sites/ladiesfirst/files/
pdf/asccp/NewPagesCyto/Normal.pdf) for additional information.
*Test that detects one of the 14 high-risk (oncogenic) types of HPV

CPT Code 87625

Definition:
Human Papillomavirus 
(HPV), types 16 and 18 
only. Includes type 45, if 
performed.

CPT Code 87625 is routinely 
utilized after 87624 for risk 
assessment and patient 
management

Ladies First Now Covers Genotyping

Cherie Bergeron 
Account Executive - Hewlett Packard Enterprise

Steven M. Constantino 
Commissioner - Dept of Vermont Health Access

Please share the information contained in this publication with all staff members. Thank you!

Modifier 26: “Professional Component”
DVHA has added useful information to the Vermont Medicaid Fee Schedule, available online at http://
dvha.vermont.gov/for-providers/claims-processing-1. The PC (26) and TC RVU and Allowed amount 
columns were added, effective January 2016.  

Only certain codes have professional and technical components, and therefore allow the use of these 
modifiers. If there is an amount in those columns, and the service is done in the facility*, there should be 
two claims billed:

1.	 Physician claim (CMS-1500) for the code with modifier 26.
2.	 Facility claim (UB) for the code with modifier TC.

*Facilities include: emergency department, on-campus outpatient, off-campus outpatient, or inpatient. (Provider-
based clinics are included, as well.)

The deadline to BEGIN participation in the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program is December 31, 
2016.

Your responses will help you determine your eligibility, and provide the Vermont EHRIP Team information 
about readiness or barriers for participation. Watch for the email inviting you to complete the short online 
survey and visit our webpage with information for first-time EHRIP participants: http://healthdata.vermont.
gov/ehrip/2016/FirstTime 

http://www.ladiesfirstproviders.vermont.gov/sites/ladiesfirst/files/pdf/asccp/NewPagesCyto/Normal.pdf
http://www.ladiesfirstproviders.vermont.gov/sites/ladiesfirst/files/pdf/asccp/NewPagesCyto/Normal.pdf
http://healthdata.vermont.gov/ehrip/2016/FirstTime
http://healthdata.vermont.gov/ehrip/2016/FirstTime


DISCLAIMER; CPT® is a registered trademark of the American Medical Association (AMA). Current Procedural Terminology / CPT® codes, descriptors, and other data only are copyright 2012 AMA. All Rights Re-
served. Applicable FARS/DFARS restrictions apply to government use. Fee Schedules, relative value units, conversion factors and/or related components are not assigned by the AMA, are not part of CPT, and the 
AMA is not recommending their use. The AMA does not directly or indirectly practice medicine or dispense medical services. The AMA assumes no liability for data contained or not contained herein.

Provider Resources
Provider Manuals:  http://www.vtmedicaid.com/Downloads/manuals.html 
VT Medicaid Banner:  http://www.vtmedicaid.com/Information/whatsnew.html 
**Please make sure to check the Banner regularly for the most up-to-date information.** 
Provider Enrollment Page:  http://www.vtmedicaid.com/Enrollment/enrollmentIndex.html#/

Contact Us
DEPARTMENT OF VERMONT HEALTH ACCESS 
312 Hurricane Lane, Suite 201, Williston, VT 05495 
Hours of Operation:  Monday - Friday 7:45AM to 4:30PM 
Phone:  (802) 879-5900
Fax:  (802)879-5651
http://dvha.vermont.gov

HEWLETT PACKARD ENTERPRISE
312 Hurricane Lane, Suite 101, Williston, VT 05495
Hours of Operation (Provider Services):  Monday - Friday 8:00AM to 5:00PM
Out-of-State Phone:  (802) 878-7871 -OR- In-State Phone:  (800) 925-1706
Fax:  (802) 878-3440
http://www.vtmedicaid.com


