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Specific Changes 
 
M103.2 Chiropractic care as described in M640 is added to the list of managed care wraparound 

services. 
M103.3 D Chiropractic care as described in M640 is included as a self-referral service. 
M640 The sentence limiting chiropractic care to children under 21 is removed. References to the 

Medicaid Division are changed to Office of Vermont Health Access. 
M800-M889 The requirement for a 90-day supply of maintenance drugs is added. 
3202.1 The VScript requirement for a 90-day supply of maintenance drugs is added. 
3203 VScript co-payments of $1 or $2 are added 
TOC The VHAP-Pharmacy Table of Contents is updated for the new co-payment section 
3303.6 VHAP-Pharmacy co-payments of $1 or $2 are added. 
3304 The VHAP–Pharmacy requirement for a 90-day supply of maintenance drugs is added. 
3505.1 VPharm co-payments of $1 or $2 are added. 
3506 A reference to the VPharm copayment section is added.  The pilot program to promote over-

the-counter and/or generic drug use of select statin lipotropic and proton pump inhibitor classes 
is added. 

4001.92 Co-payments of $1 or $2 are added for VHAP members at or above 100 percent FPL. 
4003.1 The VHAP requirement for a 90-day supply of maintenance drugs is added. 
 Chiropractic coverage for manipulation of the spine is added. 
 
Comment Period  
 
 
Written comments will be accepted until July 8, 2009 and should be addressed to Keri Andersen, Health 
Programs Administrator, Office of Vermont Health Access, 312 Hurricane Lane, Williston, VT. 05495. 
 
 

***** 

To get more information about the Administrative Procedures Act and the Rules applicable to state rule making 
go to the website of the Office of the Vermont Secretary of State at: http://vermont-
archives.org/aparules/index.htm or call Louise Corliss at 828-2863 

***** 

For information on upcoming hearing before the Legislative Committee on Administrative rules go to the 
website of the Vermont Legislature at: http://www.leg.state.vt.us/schedules/schedule2.cfm or call 828-5760. 

***** 

Vertical lines in the left margin indicate significant changes. Dotted lines at the left indicate changes to clarify, 
rearrange, correct references, etc., without changing content. 

http://vermont-archives.org/aparules/index.htm
http://vermont-archives.org/aparules/index.htm
http://www.leg.state.vt.us/schedules/schedule2.cfm
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Manual Maintenance 
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  M640   (02-35)    M640   (09-15 E) 
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M103  Benefit Delivery Systems   
 
M103.2 Managed Health Care Plan System  (Continued) 
 
B. Wrap-Around Benefits 
 

Medicaid beneficiaries enrolled in managed health care plans are eligible to receive additional 
services as defined in the State Plan and by regulation that are not included in the managed health 
care plan package. Some of these services do not require a referral from the beneficiary's primary 
care provider and are reimbursed on a fee-for-service basis. Examples of these services are: 

 
• transportation services (M755); 
• dental care for children under age 21 (M620) and limited dental services for adults up to the 

annual benefit maximum (M621); 
• eyeglasses for children under age 21 furnished through the department's sole source contractor 

(M670); 
• chiropractic services  (M640); 
• family planning services (defined as those services that either prevent or delay pregnancy);  
• personal care services (M740); and 
• prescription drugs and over-the-counter drugs prescribed by a physician for a specific disease 

or medical condition (M810-M812). 
 
C. Cost Sharing 
 

ANFC-related Medicaid beneficiaries age 21 and older and SSI-related Medicaid beneficiaries age 
18 and older enrolled in a managed health care plan are subject to the following co-payment 
requirements, unless exempt under M150.1(B):   

 
• $75.00 for the first day of an inpatient hospital stay in a general hospital. 
• $3.00 per day per hospital for hospital outpatient services unless the individual is also covered 

by Medicare.  An individual covered by Medicare has no co-payment requirement for 
outpatient services. 

 
Medicaid beneficiaries age 21 and older enrolled in a managed health care plan are subject to the 
following co-payment requirements, unless exempt under M150.1(B): 

 
• $3.00 for each dental visit.  
• Prescriptions:  

 
• $1.00 for each prescription, original or refill, having a usual and customary charge of 

$29.99 or less;  
• $2.00 for each prescription, original or refill, having a usual and customary charge of more 

than $30.00 but less than $50.00; 
• $3.00 for each prescription, original or refill, having a usual and customary charge of 

$50.00 or more. 
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M103  Benefit Delivery Systems   
 
M103.3 Primary Care Case Management Program   
 
D. Self-Referral Services   (Continued) 
 

• chiropractic services (M640); 
• maternity/prenatal (M510, M600); 
• family planning services (defined as those services that either prevent or delay pregnancy); and 
• personal care services (M740). 

 
E. Cost Sharing 
 

ANFC-related Medicaid beneficiaries age 21 and older and SSI-related Medicaid beneficiaries age 
18 and older enrolled in a PCCM are subject to the following co-payment requirements, unless 
exempt under M150.1(B):   

 
• $75.00 for the first day of an inpatient hospital stay in a general hospital. 
• $3.00 per day per hospital for hospital outpatient services unless the individual is also covered 

by Medicare.  An individual covered by Medicare has no co-payment requirement for 
outpatient services. 

 
Medicaid beneficiaries age 21 and older enrolled in a PCCM are subject to the following co-
payment requirements, unless exempt under M150.1(B): 

 
• $3.00 for each dental visit.  
• Prescriptions:  

 
• $1.00 for each prescription, original or refill, having a usual and customary charge of 

$29.99 or less;  
• $2.00 for each prescription, original or refill, having a usual and customary charge of more 

than $30.00 but less than $50.00; 
• $3.00 for each prescription, original or refill, having a usual and customary charge of 

$50.00 or more. 
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M640 Chiropractic Services 
 
Services furnished by a licensed chiropractor certified to meet the standards for participation in Medicare 
are covered. 
 
Coverage is limited to treatment by means of manipulation of the spine and then only if such treatment is 
to correct a subluxation of the spine. 
 
The existence of the subluxation may be demonstrated by means of: 
 

1. An x-ray taken at a time reasonably proximate to the initiation of the course of treatment, or 
 

2. Adherence to the clinical review criteria developed by the Vermont Chiropractic Association and 
the Vermont Medicaid Program. A copy of the clinical review record must be kept on file by the 
chiropractor and be made available upon request. 

 
An x-ray will be considered "reasonably proximate" if: 
 
In the case of a low grade chronic subluxation complex, it is taken no more than 12 months prior to the 
initiation of the course of treatment. A re-evaluation x-ray must be performed before the beginning of the 
third year of continuous care; or 
 
In the case of an acute subluxation, it is taken no earlier than three months prior to the initiation of care 
(This would justify a course of treatment for a maximum of three months.) 
 
Medicaid does not cover an x-ray ordered solely for the purpose of demonstrating a subluxation of the 
spine. Any charges incurred for the chiropractic x-ray must be borne by the recipient, recipient's family, 
friends or such other community resources as may be available. 
 
Chiropractic services for recipients under the age of 12 require prior authorization from the Office of 
Vermont Health Access.  Clinical review data pertinent to the need for treatment must be submitted in 
writing. 
 
Coverage is limited to ten treatments per patient per calendar year.  Exceptional or unusual circumstances 
may justify a request by the chiropractor for additional coverage.  Requests must contain full clinical data, 
x-rays or other documentation as may be required by the Office of Vermont Health Access to evaluate the 
medical necessity for continued care. 
 
Payment for chiropractic treatment will be made at the lower of the actual charge or the Medicaid rate on 
file. 
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M800-M889  Drugs and Pharmaceutical Items, Medical Supplies and Equipment 
 
Pharmaceutical items include drugs, medicine chest supplies, vitamins and related items which are 
normally obtained through appropriately licensed pharmacies.  Medical supplies and equipment include 
prosthetic devices, durable and non-durable equipment for care of the ill or injured, medical supplies and 
similar items which may be obtained from a pharmacy, hospital-surgical supply service or home health 
agency. 
 
Payment for covered items, other than prescribed drugs, is limited to the following providers: 
 

• A Vermont provider approved for participation in Medicare; or 
• An out-of-state provider, approved either for Medicare participation or for Medical Assistance 

(Title XIX) participation by the single state agency administering the Title XIX Program within 
the state where it is located. 

 
Payment for prescribed drugs is limited to Vermont Medicaid enrolled providers who are: 
 

• Registered Vermont pharmacies, including hospital pharmacies; or 
• Pharmacies appropriately licensed in another state; or 
• A physician, serving an area without regular pharmacy services, who has been granted special 

approval to bill these items direct. 
 
Payment is limited to covered items furnished on written prescription of a duly licensed medical 
professional licensed by the state of Vermont to prescribe within the scope of his or her practice and 
enrolled in Vermont Medicaid, or on telephoned prescription from a prescriber as previously described 
and enrolled in Vermont Medicaid processed in compliance with applicable federal and state statutes and 
regulations.   
 
Any drug which is to be used continuously (i.e., daily, twice a day, every other day, etc.) for 30 days or 
more may be prescribed and dispensed in increments of 90-day supplies except medications which the 
patient takes or uses on an "as needed" basis.  This limit shall not apply to drugs generally used to treat 
acute conditions.  
 
Select drugs used for maintenance treatment must be prescribed and dispensed in increments of 90-day 
supplies.  The drug utilization review board shall make recommendations to the director on the drugs to 
be selected.  This limit shall not apply when the patient initially fills the prescription in order to provide 
an opportunity for the patient to try the medication and for the prescriber to determine that it is 
appropriate for the patient’s medical needs.  If there are extenuating circumstances in an individual case 
which, in the judgment of the physician, dictate a shorter prescribing period, a prior authorization request 
may be made to the Office.   
 
Up to five refills are permitted if allowed by federal or state pharmacy law. 
 
For recipients in a NF or ICF/MR see M813.4. 
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M800-M889 Drugs and Pharmaceutical Items, Medical Supplies and Equipment (Continued) 
 
The pharmacist shall not fill a prescription in a quantity different from that prescribed by the physician if 
payment is to be made by Medicaid except in an individual case when the quantity has been changed in 
consultation with the physician. 
 
When the same drug in the same strength is prescribed for more than one member of a family at one time, 
the pharmacist shall treat it as one prescription for payment purposes.  Specific examples of drugs which 
might fall into this category are delousing agents (e.g. Kwell) and de-worming preparation (e.g.,Vermox).  
 
Claims for vendor payment are submitted to and processed by the fiscal agent only; there is no provision 
for direct reimbursement to recipients or to nursing homes for payments they may make to a pharmacy or 
supplier.  
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3202  Coverage 
 
Individuals are enrolled in this program and receive assistance in purchasing covered maintenance drugs 
from participating pharmacies after meeting all eligibility criteria and paying the required premium. 

 
The department’s payment for covered pharmaceuticals shall be based upon current Medicaid payment 
and dispensing policies. 
 
3202.1 Maintenance Drugs 
 
"Maintenance drug" means a drug approved by the FDA for continuous use and prescribed to treat a 
chronic condition for a prolonged period of time of 30 days or longer, and includes insulin, an insulin 
syringe and an insulin needle.  It may not be dispensed unless prescribed by a licensed physician.   
 
Maintenance drugs may be prescribed and dispensed in increments of 90-day supplies except medications 
which the patient takes or uses on an "as needed" basis.  
 
Select drugs used for maintenance treatment must be prescribed and dispensed in 90-day supplies.  The 
drug utilization review board shall make recommendations to the director on the drugs to be selected.  
This limit shall not apply when the patient initially fills the prescription in order to provide an opportunity 
for the patient to try the medication and for the prescriber to determine that it is appropriate for the 
patient’s medical needs.  If there are extenuating circumstances in an individual case which, in the 
judgment of the physician, dictate a shorter prescribing period, a prior authorization request may be made 
to the Office. 
 
Up to five refills are permitted if allowed by state or federal law. 
 
Physicians and pharmacists are required to conform to Act 127 (18 –VSA- Chapter 91), otherwise known 
as the Generic Drug Bill.  In those cases where the Generic Drug Bill permits substitution, only the 
lowest-priced equivalent shall be considered medically necessary.  If, in accordance with Act 127, the 
patient does not wish to accept substitution, VScript will not pay for the prescription. 
 
Lists of covered drugs classes are maintained and periodically updated by the Office and available upon 
request. 
 
For beneficiaries whose VScript group income is greater than 175 percent but no greater than 225 percent 
of the federal poverty level coverage is limited to drugs dispensed by participating pharmacies from 
manufacturers that as a condition of participation in the program, have signed a rebate agreement with the 
Office of Vermont Health Access.   
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3203 Cost Sharing Requirements 
 
All VScript beneficiaries must pay monthly premiums as specified in M150 through M150.2 to be 
enrolled in a VScript coverage group. 
 
The following premium amounts apply to VScript. 
 

(i) VScript Group Income Monthly Premium, Per Individual  

(ii) Coverage Group 

>  150%  <  175% FPL VScript $23.00 
>  175%  <  225% FPL VScript Expanded $50.00 

 
In addition, an individual shall contribute a co-payment of $1.00 for prescriptions costing $29.99 or less 
and a co-payment of $2.00 for prescriptions costing $30.00 or more.  
 
A pharmacy may not refuse to dispense a prescription to an individual who does not provide the co-
payment. 
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3303  Payment Conditions  
 
3303.3 Price for Ingredients  (Continued) 
 
When a physician certifies in his or her own handwriting that a specific brand of a multiple-source drug is 
medically necessary for a particular recipient, the price for ingredients will be calculated as for "other" 
drugs.  The physician's handwritten phrase "brand necessary" or "brand medically necessary" must appear 
on the face of the prescription. 
 
3303.4 Compounded Prescriptions 
 
Payment for compounded prescriptions is made at the lower of the actual amount charged or the price for 
ingredients plus the dispensing fee plus the compounding fee on file for each minute directly expended in 
compounding.   
 
3303.5 Participating Pharmacy  
 
"Pharmacy" means a retail or institutional drug outlet licensed by the Vermont State Board of Pharmacy 
pursuant to chapter 36 of Title 26, or by an equivalent board in another state, in which prescription drugs 
are sold at retail and which has entered into a written agreement with the state to dispense drugs.  
 
A provider must: 
 
 - satisfactorily complete and submit to the Office of Vermont Health Access the standard 

enrollment form; 
 - conform to the standards of the Vermont State Board of Pharmacy and other federal and state 

statutes and regulations applicable to the dispensing of prescription drugs to the general 
public; 

 - agree to provide reasonable access to records necessary to comply with the provisions for 
program review set forth in the Provider Agreement; 

 - never deny services to, or otherwise discriminate against on the basis of race, color, sex, age, 
religious preference, national origin, handicap or sexual orientation;  

 - take appropriate steps to prevent the wrong utilization of prescription drugs, with special 
concern for the potentially dangerous interaction of two or more prescription drugs from 
different prescribers. 

 
3303.6 Co-payments 
 
An individual shall contribute a co-payment of $1.00 for prescriptions costing $29.99 or less and a co-
payment of $2.00 for prescriptions costing $30.00 or more.  
 
A pharmacy may not refuse to dispense a prescription to an individual who does not provide the co-
payment. 
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3304  Prescribed Drugs   
 
Pharmaceutical items include drugs that are obtained through appropriately licensed pharmacies. Payment 
for prescribed drugs is limited to:  
  Registered Vermont pharmacies, including hospital pharmacies; or 
 
  Pharmacies appropriately licensed in another state; or 
 
  A physician, serving in areas without regular pharmacy services, who has been granted 

special approval to bill these items direct. 
 
Payment is limited to covered items furnished on written prescription from a duly licensed medical 
professional licensed by the state of Vermont to prescribe within the scope of his or her practice and 
enrolled in Vermont Medicaid, or on telephoned prescription from a prescriber as previously described 
and enrolled in Vermont Medicaid processed in compliance with applicable federal and state statutes and 
regulations.   
 
Any drug which is to be used continuously (i.e., daily, twice a day, every other day, etc.) for 30 days or 
more may be prescribed and dispensed in increments of 90-day supplies except medications which the 
patient takes or uses on an "as needed" basis.  This limit shall not apply to drugs generally used to treat 
acute conditions.   
 
Select drugs used for maintenance treatment must be prescribed and dispensed in increments of 90-day 
supplies.  The drug utilization review board shall make recommendations to the director on the drugs to 
be selected.  This limit shall not apply when the patient initially fills the prescription in order to provide 
an opportunity for the patient to try the medication and for the prescriber to determine that it is 
appropriate for the patient’s medical needs.  If there are extenuating circumstances in an individual case 
which, in the judgment of the physician, dictate a shorter prescribing period, a prior authorization request 
may be made to the Office.  
 
Up to five refills are permitted if allowed by state or federal law. 
 
The pharmacist shall not fill a prescription in a quantity different from that prescribed by the physician if 
payment is to be made by VHAP-Pharmacy, except in an individual case when the quantity has been 
changed in consultation with the physician. 
 
Payment may be made for any preparation, except those unfavorably evaluated, either included or 
approved for inclusion in the latest edition of official drug compendia:  the U.S. Pharmacopoeia, the 
National Formulary, the U.S. Homeopathic Pharmacopoeia, AMA Drug Evaluations, or Accepted Dental 
Therapeutics.  These consist of "legend" drugs for which a prescription is required by State or Federal 
law. 
 
Physicians and pharmacists are required to conform to Act 127 (18-VSA-Chapter 91), otherwise known 
as the Generic Drug Bill.  In those cases where the Generic Drug Bill permits substitution, only the lowest 
priced equivalent shall be considered medically necessary.  If, in accordance with Act 127, the patient 
does not wish to accept substitution, VHAP-Pharmacy will not pay for the prescription.     
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3505 Payment System 
 
VPharm follows the prospective premium-based payment system described at rule M150.   
 
3505.1  Cost-Sharing 
 
An individual shall contribute the following base cost-sharing amounts, which shall be indexed to the 
increases established under 42 C.F.R. § 423.104(d)(5)(iv) and then rounded to the nearest dollar amount:  
 

% FPL Monthly Premium, per Individual 
≤ 150% $  17.00 
> 150% but ≤ 175% $  23.00 
> 175% but ≤ 225% $  50.00 

 
In addition, an individual shall contribute a co-payment of $1.00 for prescriptions where the cost-sharing 
amount required by Medicare Part D is $29.99 or less and a co-payment of $2.00 for prescriptions where 
the cost-sharing amount required by Medicare Part D is $30.00 or more.  
 
A pharmacy may not refuse to dispense a prescription to an individual who does not provide the co-
payment. 
 
3505.2  Medicare Advocacy Program 
 
In order to ensure the appropriate payment of claims, OVHA may expand the Medicare advocacy 
program established under chapter 67 of Title 33 of the V.S.A. to individuals receiving benefits from the 
VPharm program. 
 
3505.3 Lower of Price for Ingredients Plus Dispensing Fee or Charge 
 
Payment for prescribed drugs, whether legend or over-the-counter items, will be made at the lower of the 
price for ingredients (see 3303.3) plus the dispensing fee on file or the provider's actual amount charged, 
which shall be the usual and customary charge to the general public. 
 



 

 

 
Office of Vermont Health Access                                          VPharm Rules 
 
7/15/09    Bulletin No. 09-15 E           3506 
_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
3506 Coverage 
 
Beneficiaries who are entitled to Medicare benefits under Part A or enrolled in Medicare Part B, and who 
live in the service area of a Part D plan, are defined under Medicare rules at 42 CFR §423.30 as eligible 
for Part D. Vermont is included in the service area for several Part D plans. According to 42 CFR 
§423.906, Medicare is the primary payer for covered drugs for Part D eligible individuals. VPharm does 
not cover drugs in classes included in the Part D benefit.  VPharm provides secondary pharmacy coverage 
as described below for those eligible for Medicare and VPharm. 
 
Part D is administered either through a prescription drug plan (PDP) or as a component of Part C, 
Medicare managed care, in a Medicare Advantage – Prescription Drug benefit (MA-PD). 
 
VPharm will provide supplemental coverage for the following categories of drugs if they are not covered 
by the PDP/MA-PD: 
 
1) drugs for anorexia, weight loss, or weight gain (M811.2); 
2) single vitamins or minerals if the conditions described in M811.3 are met;  
3) over-the-counter prescriptions if the conditions described in M811.4 are met;  
4) barbiturates; and 
5) benzodiazepines.  
 
Payment for the covered pharmaceuticals described above shall be based upon current Medicaid payment 
and dispensing policies. 
 
For those individuals whose household income is not greater than 150 percent of the federal poverty level 
(FPL), the drugs in the above categories are covered as they are covered under Medicaid.  In addition, 
benefits are provided for one comprehensive visual analysis (including a refraction) and one interim eye 
exam (including a refraction) within a two-year period, and diagnostic visits and tests related to vision.  
 
For those individuals whose household income is greater than 150 percent FPL and no greater than 225 
percent FPL, VPharm covers the drugs in the above categories only if they are maintenance drugs. 
"Maintenance drug" means a drug approved by the FDA for continuous use and prescribed to treat a 
chronic condition for a prolonged period of time of 30 days or longer and includes insulin, an insulin 
syringe and an insulin needle.  It may not be dispensed unless prescribed by a licensed physician.   
 
For those individuals whose household income is greater than 175 percent but no greater than 225 percent 
of the poverty level, coverage in the classes listed above is limited to drugs dispensed by participating 
pharmacies from manufacturers that, as a condition of participation in the program, have signed a rebate 
agreement with the Office of Vermont Health Access.   
 
In addition, VPharm covers beneficiary cost-sharing after any federal limited-income subsidy is applied. 
This may include basic beneficiary premiums for the PDP up to the low-income premium subsidy amount 
(as determined by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services), Part D deductible, co-payments, 
coinsurance, the Part D coverage gap, and catastrophic co-payments according to Medicare Part D rules. 
Beneficiaries have co-payments as described in 3505.1. 
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3506 Coverage   (Continued) 
 
For those individuals whose household income is greater than 175 percent but no greater than 225 percent 
of the poverty level, cost-sharing coverage is limited to maintenance drugs.  On a case-by-case basis, 
OVHA may pay or subsidize a higher premium for a Medicare Part D prescription drug plan offering 
expanded benefits if it is cost-effective to do so. 
 
In the case of the statin lipotropic and proton pump inhibitor drug classes, VPharm requires the use of a 
select OTC and/or a generic drug in order to receive coverage of the Medicare Part D cost-sharing, or of 
the prescription when the drug would be paid for entirely by VPharm, except that: 

(A) a beneficiary who is taking a brand name drug on June 30, 2009, under approval through a 
Medicare Part D prior authorization plan, may continue to receive coverage under VPharm for that 
drug; and 

(B) a prescriber may override the substitution of an OTC or generic drug by requesting a prior 
authorization from OVHA. The override will be based on the same criteria provided for under 
section 4606 of Title 18 (generic substitutions). The prescriber must provide a detailed explanation 
regarding: 
(1) the OTC or generic drug or drugs that have been previously tried by the beneficiary and: 

(a) were ineffective; or 
(b) resulted in the adverse or harmful side effects to the beneficiary; or 

(2) the reasons why the provider expects that the OTC or generic drug(s) may be ineffective or 
result in adverse or harmful side effects to the beneficiary if they have not previously tried the 
drug(s). 

 
The drug utilization review (DUR) board shall determine the list of OTC and generic drugs that shall be 
available for coverage in each class and shall ensure that the list of generic drugs includes drugs available 
on the formularies of 90 percent of the Medicare Part D prescription drug plans available in Vermont.  In 
designing the list, the DUR board shall maximize access to a variety of OTC and generic drugs for 
beneficiaries. 
 
When an individual appeals a denial of coverage of a drug under a Part D or Part C plan, and has 
exhausted the plan’s appeal process through the Independent Review Entity (IRE) decision level, or the 
plan’s transition processes as approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), the 
individual may apply to the Office of Vermont Health Access (OVHA) for coverage of the drug if it 
would have been included in the corresponding Vermont pharmacy benefit (Medicaid or maintenance 
level of coverage) if the individual were not covered by Part D. If the individual’s prescriber documents 
medical necessity in a manner established by the director of the OVHA, and the process for 
documentation conforms with the pharmacy best practice and cost control program established under 
subchapter 5 of chapter 19 of Title 33, the drug shall be covered.  
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3506 Coverage (continued) 
 
At the beginning of coverage under Medicare Part D, when an individual has applied for and has 
attempted to enroll in a Part D plan and has not yet received coverage due to an operational problem with 
Medicare, or has otherwise not received coverage for the needed pharmaceutical, the necessary drugs will 
be covered, if OVHA finds that good cause and a hardship exist, until such time as the operational 
problem, good cause and hardship ends.  The individual must have made every reasonable effort with 
CMS and the PDP, given the individual's circumstances, to obtain coverage.  The intent of the good cause 
and hardship exception is remedial in nature and shall be interpreted accordingly.  In general "good 
cause" shall include instances where the lack of coverage can not reasonably be considered the fault of the 
individual, and "hardship" shall include circumstances where alternative means for the coverage at issue 
are not reasonably available or will likely result in irreparable loss or serious harm to the individual.  
OVHA will make determinations of whether or not operational problems, good cause, or hardship exists 
for purposes of coverage. 
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4001.9 Cost-Sharing Requirements 
 
4001.91 Premium 
 
Individuals meet this requirement when they have paid any required premium as specified in M150 - 
M150.2. The amount of the premium for each individual increases according to VHAP income 
maximums (P-2420) based on the federal poverty level (FPL) as shown in the following chart: 
 

Income Maximums Monthly Premium per 
Individual 

0 - 50% FPL $  0 
> 50%   but  <   75%   FPL $7.00 
> 75%    but  <  100%  FPL $25.00 
> 100%  but  <  150%  FPL $33.00 
> 150%  but  <  185%  FPL $49.00 

 
4001.92 Co-payment 
 
There is a co-payment requirement of $25 per medically necessary hospital emergency room visit, as 
defined in M103.3 (13) and (37). 
 
In addition, individuals in households with income at or greater than 100% of the federal poverty 
guideline (see Medicaid Procedures P-2420 B) shall contribute a co-payment of $1.00 for prescriptions 
costing $29.99 or less and a co-payment of $2.00 for prescriptions costing 30.00 or more.  
 
A pharmacy may not refuse to dispense a prescription to an individual who does not provide the co-
payment. 
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4003 Benefit Delivery Systems 
 
4003.1  Benefits 
 
A. Services Requiring Plan Referral  (Continued) 
 

• mental health and chemical dependency services; 
 

NOTE: If a participating managed health care plan has a contract with an institution for mental 
diseases, services are limited to 30 days per episode and 60 days per calendar year. 

 
• podiatry services;  
• prescription drugs and over-the-counter drugs prescribed by a physician for specific disease or 

medical condition; 
• over-the-counter and prescription smoking cessation with a limit of two treatment regimens per 

beneficiary per calendar year. 
 

Any drug which is to be used continuously (i.e., daily, twice a day, every other day, etc.) for 30 
days or more may be prescribed and dispensed in increments of 90-day supplies except 
medications which the patient takes or uses on an "as needed" basis.  This limit shall not apply to 
drugs generally used to treat acute conditions.   

 
Select drugs used for maintenance treatment must be prescribed and dispensed in increments of 
90-day supplies.  The drug utilization review board shall make recommendations to the director on 
the drugs to be selected.  This limit shall not apply when the patient initially fills the prescription 
in order to provide an opportunity for the patient to try the medication and for the prescriber to 
determine that it is appropriate for the patient’s medical needs.  If there are extenuating 
circumstances in an individual case which, in the judgment of the physician, dictate a shorter 
prescribing period, a prior authorization request may be made to the Office. 

 
Up to five refills are permitted if allowed by state and federal law. 

 
B. Self-Referral Services   
 

In VHAP managed care the following services may be accessed by beneficiaries without a referral 
from their primary care provider. 

 
• one routine annual gynecological exam and related diagnostic services (as specified by the 

plan);  
• one mental health and chemical dependency visit (plans may determine the number of visits 

beyond the initial visit that can be provided before authorization is required from the plan's 
mental health and substance abuse in-take coordinator, or primary care physician); and  

• one routine eye examination every 24 months 
• chiropractic coverage for manipulation of the spine. 
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4003.1 Benefits  (Continued) 
 
C. Wrap-Around Benefits  
 

In VHAP managed care, beneficiaries are eligible to receive additional services that are not 
included in the managed health care plan package. These services do not require a referral from 
the beneficiary's primary care provider and are reimbursed on a fee-for-service basis. The wrap-
around services are: 

 
• eyeglasses furnished through OVHA’s sole source contractor (coverage of all eyewear is 

suspended indefinitely); 
• family planning services (defined as those services that either prevent or delay pregnancy). 
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