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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
 

State: ________Vermont__________ 
 
A. The following charges are imposed on the categorically needy for services, in accordance with section 

1916 of the Social Security Act and 42 CFR 447.50 – 447.60: 
 
 
Service                   Type of Charge Amount/Basis for Determination 
 Deductible Coinsurance Copayment  
     
 
Pharmacy  

        X 
 
 
 
 
      X 
 
 
      X 
 

$1.00 for prescription drugs costing* less 
than $30.00. Copayment is based on 
average state payment of $12.62 per claim 
(as of 06/12). 
 
$2.00 for prescription drugs costing* $30.00 
or more but less than $50.00. 
 
$3.00 for prescription drugs costing* $50.00 
or more. 
 

 
Outpatient 

       
      X 

 
$3 per day per hospital.  Copayment is 
based on average state payment of $243.64 
per outpatient claim (as of 12/11). 

     
Dental 
 

        X 
 

$3.00 per provider per date of service.  
Copayment is based on average state 
payment of $138.29 per claim (as of 12/11) 

 
 

       
       
 
 
 
 
       
 
 
       

 

 
 
 

*Cost refers to the amount of reimbursement. 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
TN No.: __13-019__                   Effective Date: _7/1/13 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
 

State: ________Vermont__________ 
 
B. The method used to col1ect cost sharing charges for categorically needy individuals: 
 

 Providers are responsible for collecting the cost sharing charges from 
individuals. 

 
 The agency reimburses providers the full Medicaid rate for a service and 

collects the cost sharing charges for individuals. 
 
C. The basis for determining whether an individual is unable to pay the charge, and the 

means by which such an individual is identified to providers, is described below: 
 

Pursuant to Section 1916(c) of the Act, the State permits the provider, in the absence of 
know1edge or indications to the contrary, to accept the Medicaid recipient’s assertion 
that he or she is unable to pay. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
______________________________________________________________________________ 
TN No.: __85-22__ 
Supersedes   Approval Date: __02/28/86__ Effective Date: __10/01/85__ 
TN No.: __None__ 

HCFA ID: 0053C/0061E 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
 

State: ________Vermont__________ 
 
D. The procedures for implementing and enforcing the exclusions from cost sharing contained in 

1916(a)(2) and (j) of the Social Security Act and 42 CFR 447.53(b) are described below: 
 

The co-payment is deducted from the Medicaid payment unless the provider indicates an excluded 
category as contained on the claim form. 

 
Vermont implements and enforces the federally required exclusions from co-payment by programming 
edits into the claims processing system which checks each claim for entries in date of birth, address, 
diagnosis, procedure code, emergency, and family planning indicator fields.  Claims lacking information 
in any of these fields are denied.  Correctly completed claims are edited against the copayment exclusion 
information in the system to determine whether or not a copayment is required. 
 
American Indians/Alaska Natives (AI/AN) who currently or have previously received services by the 
Indian Health Service (IHS), an Indian Tribe, Tribal Organization, or Urban Indian Organization 
(I/T/U), or through a referral under contract health services in any State are exempt from co-payments. 

 
Vermont will accept documentation from Indian Health Providers and Urban Indian Organizations, such 
as the IHS active or previous user letter, which indicates that the individual has received a service from 
an I/T/U, and the State will then provide an edit in the system exempting the individual from cost 
sharing. 

 
E. Cumulative maximums on charges: 
 

 State policy does not provide for cumulative maximums. 
 

 Cumulative maximums have been established as described below: 
 

The Department of Vermont Health Access’s (DVHA’s) fiscal agent performs a calculation and 
produces a report, within thirty (30) days after the end of each quarter, indicating if any Medicaid 
beneficiaries have exceeded the 5% of the family’s gross income for cost sharing. 5% of the 
family’s gross income will not be exceeded in any quarter. The amount above the 5% cap is 
refunded to the beneficiary. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
TN No.: __12-009___         Effective Date: __08/01/12__ 
Supersedes     
TN No.: __91-1_____         Approval Date: __07/18/12__ 
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